SOUTH HAMS COUNCIL



Minutes of a meeting of the South Hams Council held on Thursday, 28th November, 2019 at 2.30 pm at the Council Chamber - Follaton House

Present: Councillors:

Chairman Cllr Rowe **Vice Chairman** Cllr Foss

Cllr Austen Cllr Bastone Cllr Brazil Cllr Hawkins Cllr Holway Cllr Jackson Cllr May Cllr Pennington Cllr Reeve Cllr Smerdon Cllr Sweett Cllr Sweett Cllr Thomas

Cllr Baldry Cllr Birch Cllr Chown Cllr Hodgson Cllr Hopwood Cllr Long Cllr Pearce Cllr Pringle Cllr Rose Cllr Spencer Cllr Taylor

In attendance:

Officers: Chief Executive Monitoring Officer Senior Specialist – Democratic Services

46. Urgent Business

The Chairman informed that she had no items of urgent business for consideration at this meeting.

47. **Declarations of Interest**

Members were invited to declare any interests in the items of business to be considered during the course of the meeting but there were none made.

48. Honorary Alderman - Nomination

Members considered a report that sought approval, in accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, to the nomination of Mr John Tucker to receive the title of Honorary Alderman of the Council, in recognition of his 22 years' service as a Ward Member for West Dart (12 years' service as Leader of the Council).

In the ensuing debate, Members from across the Council Chamber paid tribute to Mr Tucker and felt that the nomination was very well deserved. Members also highlighted that Mr Tucker had been an excellent Leader of the Council who had worked tirelessly for the residents of the South Hams District throughout his 22 years' service.

It was then:

RESOLVED

That, in accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman of the Council upon Mr John Tucker, in recognition of his 22 years' service as a Ward Member for West Dart.

The Meeting concluded at 2.35 pm

Signed by:

Chairman